News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Epic win sends U18 Girls into final

Epic win sends U18 Girls into final

Michael Gallagher30 Mar - 23:03
Share via

Brilliant U18 Girls win cup semi-final

Our wonderful U18 Girls are in the cup final after an exceed 28-19 win in Creggs on Saturday afternoon.
This epic semi-final was played in dry, windy conditions. Both teams were down three players aoiece on international duty in Wales, which levelled up matters.
Creggs started well and were soon 12-0 up. Ballina, led by captain Etain Rowland who is getting better by the game, took a lovely ball from the line out and set the backs away for Grace Kennedy to score a fine try and hooker Leah Hopkins converted to close the gap to 7-12.
Ballina began to go through phases and had to replace a centre and wing foward but didn't get weaker and scored a second try through prop Beibhinn Gill and the try was converted by Hopkins for a 14-12 lead.
Creggs began the second half impressively and scored just after half time to leas 14 - 19, but Ballina started to dominate the foward battle while backs such as Ciara Golden, Grace Kennedy and her sister, Evie Kennedy tackling everything.
Ballina attacked and the backs moved one way and then the other to make room for full-back Emer Collins to score and Hopkins converted for a 21-19 lead.
The game was on a knife edge at that stage with both teams trying hard to win it. Ballina tackled like players possessed and then Beibhinn Gill did what all props should. She broke the tackle on the half line and burst through to score under the posts.
When Hopkins converted the Moysiders were 28-19 clear and as time ticked away Ballina took the ball into a ruck then another ruck and when time was up thry kicked to much.
The squad and management will head for the Dexcom Stadium in Galway on April 14 to play Tuam/Oughterard in the final.
The Ballina squad was; Etain Rowland captain, Leah Hopkins, Beibhinn Gill, Roisin Foody, Eimear Foody, Tori Markwick, Katie Langan, Zoe Fox, Emily Mescal, Ciara Golden, Jane Bourke, Emma Tolan, Evie Kennedy, Grace Kennedy, Emer Collins, Abigeal Barrett, Aoife Kelly, Alicia Cambell, Jane Gilvarry, Chloe Rochford, Ruth Kenny, Billy Morrow.
Ballina will have Ailishgb, Emily and Grainne back for the final.
Further reading